At least I’m not a shoe girl…

I’ve decided that I can’t buy any new clothing items/accessories for a while. I’ve been cutting back on my spending in this area to save (and I’ve been doing pretty well!) but events last week solidified it for me.

About a week ago I met my friend Megan at Century City Mall for dinner and shopping. This is by far my favorite mall in LA. They don’t have every store, but they do have a lot of good ones, and parking is free for the first 3 hours, which I love.

One of my first stops was H&M. My shopping style at such a big store like this is to grab one of their shopping bags and toss everything I want to try on/consider into it. When I got to the dressing room, where they only allow you to take clothing in, I dug through my bag and I came across one dress and one shirt. The other 15 items were all accessories, such as belts, purses and jewelry. It was at this point that I realized I have a real obsession with acessories. I love clothing, too, but my heart lies with fun belts, gorgeous purses and jewelry (fine and not so fine).

I have a huge bucket full of belts, literally, a bucket. The last time I remember wearing one of the these belts? Not sure. All that great costume jewelry? I usually wear one of my good necklaces and will maybe remember to switch it for another every 2 weeks. At least I do utilize my handbag collection, using clutches for nights out and altering my everyday bag frequently.

But, I realized how much I just let this great stuff sit there. So, I walked out of H&M (after apologizing to the dressing room guy who will have to restock everything) and made a vow to myself that I will begin acessorizing my outfits and making use of what I already have.

Since that night I’ve been doing relatively well, but it is difficult to create a full, accesorized outfit. We’ll see how I do in the future, but it will be a while before I purchase any new acessories!

Leave a Reply

