LACMA

Living in Los Angeles is expensive. I suppose this goes without saying as it is commonly known that LA is right up there with New York for most expensive cities to live in. So, it’s exciting when you find something free (or at least discounted) to do in the city.

On Friday, I went to LACMA, which is something I’ve been wanting to do for years. In my research of when to go, I discovered that museum admission is free for LA County residents after 5pm. Most days they are open until 8pm, but on Friday they are open until 9, so I decided to utilize that extra hour.

Loved this room

I must admit, I am not a big art museum person. I love natural science museums and history museums, but my experience with art museums is limited to the Met when I was in 6th grade and a quick perusal of the Louvre after drinking quite a bit of wine at lunch. So, I don’t have much to compare LACMA to. That said, I really liked the museum. It is quite large, about 4 or 5 different buildings (I didn’t even make it to two of them) and things flow nicely.

The main exhibits I saw were the modern art instillations, Indian art, ancient ceramics, traditional art and Islamic art. I found the Indian art very interesting, but my favorite was definitely the more traditional stuff, such as biblical scenes, impressionist art and portraits.

The museum was practically deserted when I visited, which was really nice. At one point I was alone in a large room with beautiful Monet’s everywhere and I glanced out the window and saw the terrible rush hour traffic on Wilshire. It was neat to be in the middle of the city but feel a world away.

Here are some of my favorite works:

 

Monet

Picasso

 

The iconic LACMA lights

*Tip: Parking was $10, which is pretty step. To avoid the parking charge, visit after 7pm.

Leave a Reply

