Book Review: Prep

I’m not sure how often I will do book reviews on {d&w}, but I will start posting them periodically because I’ve been trying to read  more lately. To start… a book I’ve been meaning to read for a while and finally got around to.

After hearing people discuss Prep for years, I decided to buy it earlier this spring. Despite having about 10 books sitting on my bookshelf to read, I selected this one to be the first book I would read on our cruise.

One thing I like about the book is that it’s an easy read: I could start and stop reading throughout the week without feeling lost or like I needed to re-read to jump start my memory. The book’s set up was interesting in that, instead of going year by year with lots of details, it’s set up with anecdotes from each year that illustrate the mood, maturity and life stage of the main character.

And that is where the positive ended, at least in my opinion. While the book was interesting to read, I have to say that I really didn’t like it. I found the writing to be quite annoying. Perhaps the author really took the role of writing as a highschooler seriously as every point was beaten to death, examined from every possible angle, with no real solution reached. It made it frustrating to read.

I also didn’t really like the main character. I felt like she was weak, too prone to peer pressure, a little pathetic and mostly very forgettable. Harsh, I know, but if you’re not either cheering for the main character, or hoping for their demise, I think reading loses a lot of it’s pleasure.

With so many great books out there, and so little time, I have to say that I recoommend skipping this one, unless teenage angst is your thing.

(image via Amazon)

One thought on “Book Review: Prep

Leave a Reply

