Cake Ball Secrets

Cake balls are one of my favorite desserts. Ever since I sampled them at a party a few years ago, I’ve been on a quest for the perfect recipe and the best way to make them. Mine usually taste delicious but their presentation leaves something to be desired. Below are what I wish my cake balls looked like. These were made by Luke’s sister Katy, who is basically a professional baker, for her son Ove’s birthday.

Image

I decided to give them another try for Mother’s Day, and I’m happy to say that I found my cake ball sweet spot: I finally worked out all of the kinks. Here are a few tips:

– Bake them in stages. This time, I made them over the course of two days, I baked the cake, mixed the frosting in and put them in the fridge to chill on Saturday, and on Sunday I dipped and decorated them.

– Add a teaspoon of Crisco to the melting chocolate. This makes the consistency much more manageable.

– Use kebab skewers to dip, gently push on to wax paper, and drizzle chocolate over the hole left by the skewer.

Image

Above are some of mine from this weekend! They’re still a work in progress, but look much better in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

