Book Review: The Distant Hours

Last summer, when Border’s was going out of business, I visited my local store a number of times to pick up books at huge discounts. I spent a few afternoons browsing the shelves and picking up everything from classics, to books by my favorite authors, to titles I thought would make great gifts and books I’d never heard of that looked interesting.

There was one book that stood out to me each time I was browsing the fiction section, Kate Morton’s The Distant Hours.  As you can see, the cover is gorgeous, if not a bit spooky, and after my second browsing trip, I decided that if the book was still there the next time, I would buy it.

It sat on my bookshelf looking pretty for a few months while I read other books, but I finally started it in March after returning from our cruise. It took me a while to finish, but I loved it. It had many elements that are very interesting to me, including the setting, the English countryside, the time period, weaving between the 1990’s and the 1940’s (I am a history buff), and the plot, lots of mystery and intrigue.

The book is very bittersweet, and I found myself instantly attached to most of the characters. The plot flowed very well and there wasn’t a lot of unnecessary fluff, which is rare to find in a book of 550+ pages. I would recommend the book to readers who enjoy a history lesson with their fiction and have an interest in World War II, England or family relationships and dynamics.

I’ve since read other reviews, and a lot of people have said it was their least favorite work by Morton. If this is true, then I’m very excited to read her other books because they must be excellent.

(image via Goodreads.com)

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Distant Hours

Leave a Reply

