Patio D.I.Y.

I’ve been holding out on blogging about a D.I.Y. project my  mom and I worked on last summer, because one key element was missing. But more on that later. After arriving in Denver and getting our patio set up, I realized it wasn’t quite my style. The bamboo bistro set had been with me for years, a great deal found at Kohl’s in the summer of 2008. And the bench a castoff of my uncle’s when he moved into a new place. Priced right, yes, but my ideal summer lounging spot, no.

After finding a gorgeous red bench with a black cushion and white piping, I decided to spend the time and the money to revamp the whole space. The bench went off to my parents’ house, and my mom and I decided to paint the bistro set black, and give the patio a red, white and black theme.

The “before”

Ready to prime and paint

Primed and ready to go (and getting some help from my parents’ dog)

The project was a lot of fun and it only took us two morning to complete– including drying time. We also painted a chestnut pedestal table I found at Home Goods. While the pieces don’t look as perfect as they would if they were manufactured to be black, I will consider painting my own furniture again in the future. Stay tuned for the “after” pics coming soon.

Leave a Reply

