Busy Bee

Have you seen this article from the New York Times? It was published over a week ago, but has recently caught on with my family and friends. When I first started reading it, I got really offended and thought I was the exact type of person the author is chastising. If you read this blog frequently, you know that I love a fresh to-do list full of projects and tasks to complete. But after reading the article more closely, I see that I’m not at all the type of person the author is referring to.

Rather than discussing people who enjoy having tasks and feel productive when they complete them, he calls out those people who relish being super busy for the sake of being super busy, the people who love to tell other people how busy they are in order to look important. I think we all know this type of person, in college they always had an excuse of why they couldn’t enjoy a fun night out, and as working professionals they have client dinners and weekend travel and are always turning down plans.

It seems the author and I agree on a lot of things. The reason I love my to-do lists and completing them is because it gives me license to do absolutely nothing later and not feel guilty. His idea of the perfect workday, working for 4-5 hours, exercising and then relaxing either with friends or alone, sounds pretty great to me.

I know that with our culture thriving on being busy, and instilling this in children at younger and younger ages, the trend is only going to become more commonplace. But hopefully people will have keep perspective on the things that matter, and only be busy when they need to be, not for the sake of being busy.

What’s your take on our busy bee culture?

(Sidenote: love the template below!)

via

Leave a Reply

