Lately

Well hello there! How have you been?

I apologize for my little 2 week blogging hiatus. I didn’t plan it, but it happened anyway. Here’s what I’ve been up to:

North Carolina trip

The weekend of July 20th I ventured to North Carolina for the wedding of one of my best childhood friends. Her family lived a few streets over from mine for a few years during elementary school, and our whole families were close with one another. After they moved to the east coast, I visited a few times and they came back to Colorado a few times, but I hadn’t seen them since 2007. I was obviously excited about the weekend, but didn’t have much time to think about it or my expectations. Sometimes, I find that’s for the best, because the weekend ended up being absolutely amazing. I was able to catch up with the bride at the rehearsal dinner (usually unheard of during a wedding weekend), spend time with my bff Kevin (the bride’s brother) and meet a bunch of fun new people.

Early birthday gift

I received my first birthday gift earlier this week from my parents, a DSLR camera. I’ve been wanting one for a few months now, mostly to take better travel pictures and upgrade the blog a bit. I got the Rebel T3i and an extra lens, which will be a good start according to a photographer friend I consulted when making my wish list. I tested it out this weekend at my friend’s family’s ranch, which has lots of beautiful scenery. I definitely need to take a class or spend some time working on my shots but it was a lot of fun.

Work

I don’t think I’ve written much about my job, which I got back in May , but I am still loving it. One of the best perks about it are the summer hours, which include 1/2 day Fridays, Mondays off and the week of the 4th of July off, all in addition to regular PTO. Well, our ‘busy season’ started on August 1, so it’s really ramping up!  It will be weird to get back to a 40 hour work week (I haven’t worked one since February of 2011), but I’m not dreading it, which I feel blessed about.

Leave a Reply

