Etc.

Well, I’ve been working on catching up on all of the big trips and happenings around here, but of course there were also lots of fun little trips and events. Here’s what else happened:

In October I had a large mishap, which involved losing all of the 2800 pictures I had on my iPhone. No, I didn’t have my cloud activated, and I hadn’t back up to iTunes since April. I was able to get back the pictures from before April, which I am eternally grateful for, but all of the pictures I took this summer are long gone. Lesson learned: download DropBox and actually use your cloud.

In mid-October I ventured to LA for my cousin’s 30th birthday. It was great to see all of her friends that I’ve gotten to know over the years, and spend time with my cousins and their boyfriends.

20131017-134259.jpg

20131017-134401.jpg

20131017-134458.jpg

loeTzKnPgS8P32PsbNCk1HPOBs_e-pimSGGfqagIOV4

20131017-134557.jpg

photo (1)

I also deactivated my Facebook. I mentioned that I was thinking about it here, and in late October, I finally decided to pull the plug. So far, it has been great. Some of the time I used to spend on Facebook I still spend on social media, while waiting in line, those last few minutes before bed, but I consider it more productive time because I will browse news on Twitter or work on my dream wardrobe and plan trips on Pinterest.  I may have missed some announcements from friends, and I’ve definitely missed out on opportunities to brag to friends and acquaintances about my life, but for now, I am content with this.

In December I attended a Christmas party at Mile High Stadium. In addition to a truly awesome dinner and dancing event, we also got to do a behind the scenes tour of the stadium. Here I am in the endzone.

photo_5 (3)

I took two trips to Vegas in 5 weeks.

photo_1 (12)

photo_2 (12)

Megan came to visit for two weekends! She had a work training during the week, so the first weekend was spent at my place and around Denver, and the second weekend we went up to Boulder. After the football games the first weekend, when it was determined that our teams would be playing each other here, we decided to splurge and get tickets for the AFC championship game. And what a game it was.

photo (26)

photo (27)

I hosted a big party in January, but no, it wasn’t a Super Bowl Party… I finally had my housewarming party! About 8 months after I moved into my place. Talk about overdue. Everything went very smoothly and there was a great turnout, and it was fun to give tours to the people who hadn’t seen my home yet. I’ve never hosted a party this big, so I am still a bit surprised at how busy I was the whole time. I didn’t have time to socialize with anyone for more than a few minutes at which time someone would come by to say hello or goodbye. Consequently, I didn’t take one picture the entire day. Not of the drinks table, all of the food, the dessert table, my friends, my family, nothing.

photo (32)

Loved the invitations

I also don’t know how I could have done the party without a silent co-host, my mother. She was able to answer the door if I was busy, cook, replenish crackers and fruit as needed and completely help to make the party a success. I truly don’t know how someone does a party like this without a caterer or an almost caterer.

The next weekend, Super Bowl weekend, still has me shaking my head. I spent all of Sunday morning working on my blue and orange Broncos tutu and making cake balls for the two parties I was planning to attend. The rest of the day is a blur of underwhelming commercials, a terribly disappointing game and dashed dreams. Still pretty much in shock. Until August, tutu.

photo (31)

Valentine’s weekend I was supposed to be in Washington DC and Baltimore with my family, but unfortunately the weather didn’t cooperate and I wasn’t able to make it out there. It was very disappointing. More details about that soon.

Leave a Reply

