Happenings

Been staying pretty busy around here, hence the extremely delayed Iceland posts that I’m still working on. But it’s been a good month and half or so since I last updated on happenings around here.

The weekend before the Iceland trip, I went to Opening Day for the Rockies. I’d never been before, but I think I may be one of those people who will take off work and go from now on. We arrived downtown at about 10:30am, with the game not beginning until after 2. I didn’t even have a ticket, I was just going to head home when my friends went to the game, but Katherine won a ticket for me from one of the local radio stations at the bar. We sat club level with the morning on-air personalities and had a funny conversation with them about using ranch as a dipping sauce. The whole day was a blast.

photo_1 (29)

photo_2 (26)

photo_3 (22)

photo_4 (13)

After Iceland, the next big event was Easter. My cousin came into town, but I didn’t get to hang out with him as much as I wanted. Saturday was a fun night out downtown, with Larimer square all decorated for the Avalanche making the playoffs, and Sunday was Mass, Easter lunch at our usual spot and hanging out at home.

photo_1 (30)

photo_2 (27)

photo_3 (23)

On a random Thursday, my friend Kevin and I discovered “our place.” We have been friends since Kindergarten, and he recently moved back to Colorado and lives in Colorado Springs, so we sometimes meet in Castle Rock to catch up. I bought a deal for Maddie’s Biergarten and we loved the place. We had flights of beers and brats, and I picked up potato and macaroni salad for us at the grocery store. We were able to catch up and watch the Avalanche game, and I know we’ll go back soon.

photo_4 (14)

 photo_5 (8)

My mom and I had a fun night out downtown seeing the play Shadowlands about the author C.S. Lewis and his relationship with his wife and God. It was a very powerful play, and during the opening monologue, I felt like he could have been speaking directly to me. We ate at one of our favorite restaurants downtown before the play and had our fun bubbly drinks after. It was great to spend a night on the town together.

photo_4 (19)

That Saturday I played volleyball at Washington Park, which was the perfect way to spend a warm spring morning. That night was our school prom. I was on the decorating committee, which was really fun, and chaperoned the night of the event. The photo booth was so fun, I swear I must have been in it 7 or 8 times.

photo_3 (25)

photo_2 (29)

photo_5 (11)

photo (42)

Kevin and I attended the South Denver Beer Fest and had a great time. There were over a hundred breweries represented, and in the VIP tent they also had cheese and chocolate, which is rare to find at an event like this. We had a great time and hit up the food trucks. I got a grilled cheese sandwich and fries for lunch, and on the way out we got ice cream sandwiches. So tasty.

photo_1 (32)

photo_1 (33)

photo_2 (31)

photo_3 (26)

Mother’s Day weekend, my cousin visited from Chicago and it was so great to have her here. We went to dinner and drinks on Friday, walked in Wash Park on Saturday followed by lunch in Cherry Creek, spent 3 hours getting ready and watching the Mindy Project Saturday night and finally made it downtown for dinner at Ocean Prime and then drinks at Cru and Green Russell. On Sunday we went to Mass and then cooked up an impressive brunch for the family. It was a much too quick visit, but fun as always.

photo_4 (15)

photo_1 (31)

photo_2 (28)

photo_3 (24)

The next update I’ll share about Graduation, Vegas, a wedding and a fun summer goal!

Leave a Reply

